ambolt

CRA SBOM requirements: NTIA minimum elements vs BSI TR-03183-2

The Cyber Resilience Act (Regulation (EU) 2024/2847) requires manufacturers to draw up a software bill of materials (SBOM). It does not say which fields the SBOM must have. Two documents fill that gap in practice: the NTIA minimum elements (United States, 2021) and the BSI Technical Guideline TR-03183-2 (Germany). This page shows what each asks for, so you can pick a target for your own SBOM.

What the Regulation itself requires

Annex I, Part II, point 1 obliges manufacturers to identify and document vulnerabilities and components in the product, including by drawing up a software bill of materials in a commonly used and machine-readable format that covers, at the very least, the top-level dependencies of the products. The SBOM is part of the technical documentation (Annex VII), and market surveillance authorities can request it on a reasoned request, where needed to check compliance with Annex I. Nothing in the Regulation names CycloneDX, SPDX, NTIA or BSI. A harmonised standard or a Commission implementing act may detail the format later; until then, the two documents below are the common reference points.

NTIA minimum elements (2021)

The NTIA's "Minimum Elements For a Software Bill of Materials" has three parts. The data fields are:

| Field | Meaning | |---|---| | Supplier name | Who supplies the component | | Component name | Name given by the supplier | | Version | Version of the component | | Other unique identifiers | For example a package URL (purl) or CPE | | Dependency relationship | Which component includes which | | Author of SBOM data | Who created the SBOM | | Timestamp | When the SBOM data was assembled |

The other two parts are automation support (a machine-readable format: SPDX, CycloneDX or SWID) and practices: frequency of updates, depth, known unknowns, distribution and delivery, access control and accommodation of mistakes. The NTIA list is a baseline. It does not ask for hashes or licences.

BSI TR-03183-2

TR-03183-2 is part of the BSI's technical guideline on cyber resilience requirements for manufacturers, and it describes SBOM requirements in detail. It starts from the NTIA fields and adds more, in particular:

Some identifiers (purl, CPE) are required only where available, and the version can be replaced by a modification date. The guideline is updated from time to time, including the minimum format versions, so read the current version on the BSI website before you build a pipeline around it.

Side by side

| Topic | CRA (Annex I Part II) | NTIA 2021 | BSI TR-03183-2 | |---|---|---|---| | Machine-readable format | Required ("commonly used") | Required (SPDX, CycloneDX, SWID) | Required (CycloneDX or SPDX, minimum versions stated) | | Depth | At the very least top-level dependencies | At minimum all top-level dependencies, with enough detail to trace transitive ones; known unknowns flagged | Dependencies per component with a completeness indicator; no separate depth rule found, check the current text | | Supplier, name, version | Implied | Required | Creator and name required; version or a modification date | | Unique identifier (purl, CPE) | Not specified | Required | Where available | | Dependency relationships | Not specified | Required | Required | | Author and timestamp | Not specified | Required | Required | | Hashes | Not specified | Not required | Required (SHA-512 of the deployable component) | | Licences | Not specified | Not required | Required (SPDX identifiers or expressions) | | Status | Law | Guidance | Guidance (not binding law) |

Which one should you aim for

The SBOM checker tests a CycloneDX or SPDX JSON file against the NTIA elements and the Regulation's wording in your browser; the file is not uploaded. The repository check shows whether GitHub can export a dependency graph for your project.

Notes

This page is general information, not legal advice. The BSI guideline is not binding law, and its content changes between versions; check the primary sources (NTIA, BSI, EUR-Lex) before you rely on a detail.

Free tools

Information generated from your inputs, with article references to Regulation (EU) 2024/2847. It is not legal advice and does not replace your own assessment; check the references against the Official Journal.